Intro – 3 简介3

Introduction to the Model of Hierarchical Complexity


The Model of Hierarchical Complexity (MHC) identifies 17 orders of hierarchical complexity. Each order in the hierarchy is a deconstruction of a task. Each task has defining actions which characterize which order it belongs to in the MHC.


Model of Hierarchical Complexity 等级复杂性模型

Each Task from simple to more complex form a hierarchy.  The performance of a task should always follow an order of development. If a task requires multiple lower order actions then that task is defined as more complex. Using the Axioms for the model, one can find what order a task fits in. There are three Axioms for MHC.


The Three Axioms for MHC: 等级复杂性模型的三公理

1)  Defined in terms of at least two different actions from the next lowest order.


2)  Organizes these different lower-order actions.


3) And does so in a non-arbitrary way.


17 Orders of Hierarchical Complexity


  • 0: Calculatory 计算阶段
  • 1: Automatic 自动阶段
  • 2: Sensory and Motor 感觉或运动阶段
  • 3: Circular sensory-motor 感觉运动循环阶段
  • 4: Sensory-motor 感觉运动阶段
  • 5: Nominal 字义阶段
  • 6: Sentential 句义阶段
  • 7: Preoperational 前运算阶段
  • 8: Primary 初级阶段
  • 9: Concrete 具体阶段
  • 10: Abstract 抽象阶段
  • 11: Formal 形式阶段
  • 12: Systematic 系统阶段
  • 13: Metasystematic 元系统阶段
  • 14: Paradigmatic 聚合阶段
  • 15: Cross-paradigmatic 交叉聚合阶段
  • 16: Meta Cross-paradigmatic 元交叉聚合阶段